Growing Popularity

When you can’t control the price of gas and you missed the tax break deadline for that solar unit, go green by growing grub.  Having a garden at home can save you money and relieve everyday stress.  For me having a garden is the best way to get off the super market grid; rather than having my tomatoes shipped from Chile I just step out the front door and pluck what looks good (when the plant is of age). 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Finding the time and the right place to put your garden is key.  Our house faces south (south gets the most light) and has a large flower bed running across the porch.  I know that I am a busy person and tend to forget about things I don’t see so integrating the garden into the front landscaping was a no-brainer.  The choices in vegetation was simple for me.  I picked plants that have a similar water need, light demand, and placed them according to height and color.  I put a row of old firewood to act as a path so I can reach everything in the garden when it comes time to reap my rewards. 

 The basil variety in my garden has a deep purple color in the leaves and will complement nicely with the purple in the lavender, the potatoes, and the fruit of the tomatoes.  As things warm  up I will add in more flowers and expand upon the garden bed and to balance out the colors. 

If you noticed the cop car give yourself a pat on the back.  If you tried to kick in the back door of my house then that cop car is for you.  We know what you’ve been up to, that you have small feet, and that the hamburgler has more street cred than you.

Hope this is a help to you and look forward to updating you on my progress and other adventures in gardening.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in Veggie Tales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Popularity

  1. gustoflight says:

    After one week, nearly a foot of snow, and several inches of rain everything is still living. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

