Trigger Happy

  They say the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence and they were wrong.  Lurking on the other side of my fence: a restaurant parking lot and two bright street lamps that I consider paying someone to shoot.   That said, I’m excited to announce that I have purchased my first trees in hopes to snuff out the light and remove myself from the service industry.  Oh, and did I mention?  I did for a lot less than I thought possible.

First up: Japanese Snowbell Tree

Grows between 2-3′ a year reaching a height of 30′.  Blooms in the spring-summer, full-partial shade, isn’t a snob when it comes to soil, keeps its room clean, and minds its own business.  This is the kind of tree you want around if you have a small yard and you want a light fragrant aroma.  I picked mine up for just under $35 (3-4′)

Next up: Royal Empress

So this tree is HUGE and grows faster than a teen-aged boy.  It can grow as much as 15′ a year (no joke) reaching a height of 50′ in around 5 years.  It blooms every spring and smells like lavender.  One nice feature about the Royal Empress is that it’s roots won’t take over and the variety that I ordered is said to be non-invasive, insect & disease resistant.  I bought the root start for under $30 and I know that the impatient part of me will enjoy watching this thing take off.

And Last: Tea Olive Shrub

They call it a shrub, but it grows to about 10’tall; growing at a rate of about 2-3′ a year.  Tea Olive blooms from spring to fall and has a  fragrant reputation said to  resemble gardenia, rose, or jasmine.   Another positive is that they thrive when neglected and set me back less than $20 a pop.

If you are interested in picking some up for yourself check out brighterblooms.com .  They deliver to most states and have a wonderful site that will help you make choices you can feel good about.

I’ll keep you posted on when mine get here and share as they grow into something wonderful.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, Veggie Tales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

