Ship Shape

Sometimes a blank slate can be a little much.  Our back yard needs a lot of love and a lot of inventiveness.  The size is about 70′ wide and 35 feet deep (give or take).  This is the before and current.

Now imagine that you are somewhere warm, somewhere magical and filled with beauty.

Maybe one day it will be this way.  In a perfect word that would be sooner than later.  One thing is on my side: there’s no utilities to worry about.  I digitally sent my request to the bluestake folks and they got back to me within minutes to tell me I was in the clear.

You might be wondering about the boat.  I had a brilliant idea not long ago that it would be wonderful to take an old wooden row-boat and turn it into a patio bed.  I found this one used in my area. Now all I have to do is negotiate the price to something I can live with.  So far no luck.

The Boat will be tied up at a dock and floating in a bed of blue and purple Iris.  If I don’t win the contest for work I am going to try making the dock from old pallets.  I imagine that I am going to have to rip up a number of them to get enough wood, but sometimes you have more time than money, and besides, used pallets are the next shipping container right?

Any how, wish me luck and perseverance through this major undertaking.  I am going to do most of it myself and with an itsy- bitsy budget.  So far I have spent about 150 in plants, planning another 20 for compost and foresee another 400 over the next 4 months. 

Main thing here: I am going to plan for the best and start building hoping that what I needs shows up in the nick of time, and that the owner of the boat will drop his price so I can stop checking the classifieds 2-3 times a day to make sure he hasn’t sold it to someone else.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, Veggie Tales and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ship Shape

  1. Pingback: I’m all Jacked up on Junk « Project Pepper

Leave a Reply

