Ground Breaking

The snow has melted and now it’s time to break ground and enter a whole new territory.  This is my first time to start from scratch.  Spring is barely here and the grass hasn’t even been cut.      Monday 5/2/11

Thanks to a friend I was able to borrow a shovel.  Having the right tool for the job helps.  Right now I consider myself lucky to have the right friends. 

After all that I soaked the soil so could break the roots up and sift the bad stuff out.  I know people talk about dirt poor, and dirt cheap, but dirt ain’t exactly cheap.  Out West enough good acidic dirt to fill this bed runs about 100 bucks.  That’s money I would rather put into flowers so getting rid of grass and roots is a lot of work but worth it in the end.

Saturday is the day to mow the lawn and due to some 8″ of snow fall things got a little behind schedule.  Marking a dig site and breaking up sod is a lot easier when the grass is short and after I finished this taking this picture some lawn guys came to rescue thanks to my Father-in-Law who knows his son well.  5/2/11

I bought some shade plants including Hydrangea, Bleeding Heart, some purple flowering shrub, and some other flowers.  Because the Hydrangea and shrubs can get pretty big the dig site had to get bigger.  This made my Husband really happy because  he loves to mow the lawn. 5-4-11

It took about an hour to get the dirt cleared of roots and to till in some compost to plant these shrubs.  Right now they are about 16 inches wide and will grow to be about 3’x3′ filling in really nicely.  Not bad considering that I’ve gotten about 10 sq.ft. done and have broken ground for about 300.  Today I realized that the reason that I didn’t look into how hard this would be has more to do with if I knew I wouldn’t do it and/or I would procrastinate so long that it I would have to wait another year to start.  Either way, I am glad that it is happening.  I promise myself that by the time I go on vacation (one month) that I will get a massage and drink lemonades on the patio and admire all the hard work having finished by then.  Hopefully 😉  5-4-11

Goals to finish out the week:  Plant the trees and shrubs I ordered from Brighterblooms, prep the site for the grapes, blueberries, and raspberries, get a whole mess of compost, and plant the  200 flowering bulbs and root clusters so I can see them later this summer.  Exhale, anybody want to play in the dirt with me? or want to play with their caterpillar in my giant dirt box?

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, gardening, landscaping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ground Breaking

  1. pobept says:

    Hang in there.
    Sooner than you think, you can set back and consume your favorite adult beverage and start enjoying the fruits of your labor.

    Happy gardening

Leave a Reply

