Rain Dance

No, I didn’t forget to post something this weekend and Yes, I left my camera in the rain.  So much was going on this week I decided to give it a theme: BIG. 

BIG THUNDERSTORM with BIG GUSTS OF WIND like a BIG BUCKET OF WATER DUMPED OM MY HEAD.

BIG PILES OF DIRT THAT DON’T WANT TO GET WET.

BIG FALLEN TREES and BIG WOODEN SPOOLS all part of my BIG IDEAS.  EVERYTHING TYPED IN ALL CAPS BIG.

Ok, so you get the point.  forgetting the camera in the rain could have been a tragedy but it was a positive.  I needed to upgrade but was too stuburn to spend the money.  When the bag of rice wasn’t enough to restore my digital companion I turned to local online auction and bought a used camera with twice the MEGA PIXEL as the last one for about the cost of a crappy SD card.  Perfect.

and for the big stuff. . . I did alright.  While driving down the road a couple of weeks ago I found a fallen tree that sparked my attention.  It reminded me of a Henry Moore sculpture and I knew I had to have it.  After a couple of weeks of hounding my yard boy (husband) about it we made plans for a retrieval.  Cloaked by the wonderment of saturday morning we made the quick drive down in the valley and loaded the reclining trunks into the pickup and drove back up to the east.

This part of the trunk was the beast that sparked my interest.  The backside is hollowed out by fire;  possibly the victim of lightning.  The log measures about 10′ long and lives in the safety of a botany sanctuary where it enjoys the company of a japanese snow bell,  burning bush,  numerous flowering bulbs, and wild flowers. I imagine when I have this bed sculpted in the landscape and flowers filling the area it will be a lovely place to gaze while I wash dishes.  The trunk rests on an engineered hill thanks to the Big pile of dirt.

This weekend I also planted the blue berries.  I made sure that the soil was acidic.  I also planted some annuals with the bushes to make things pretty while the bush grows into its size.  I also planted marigolds around the bushes because I learned that they are good for the soil and that they have lots of incrEDIBLE uses. 

 That’s it for now.  There’s rain in the forcast so I might take it easy for a while considering I shoveled hundreds of pounds of dirt and 3 cubic yards of compost this past weekend I feel that I can take a little break.  The weekend is going to bring lots of progress and a little rest wouldn’t hurt.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, gardening, head dress, landscaping, second-hand success, Veggie Tales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

