I’m all Jacked up on Junk

So much has happened this week that it’s hard to know where to start; one thing is certain:  junk.

After a few weeks of searching I found a boat that was priced to sell.  It measures about 14 feet and was handcrafted by a local over 40 years ago.  The last time it was registered I was wearing diapers.  Can’t wait to fix it up and relax; hopefully that day comes in time for my birthday (one month).

I broke up some more sod and built up the hill I started last week.  I planted some wild flowers and such and hope to see signs of life this time next week.  I have never really planted seeds before and it seems like such a gamble.  I can say that the weather is perfect for it, nothing but rain showers in the forecast.

The hill came out nice.  It will be the foreground to the boat once I build supports for it.  I can’t tell you how excited I am about this adventure.  My father-in-law had to help Kyle and I get it through the gate and is probably more excited than I am.  It is great that my family here can appreciate that I am doing a public service of junk removal. 

This piece of junk used to be a covered porch swing and came from the neighbor’s house.  I am thinking about turning it into a green house.  It will need some work to expand the frame but I should be able to get it going before too long.  With the grow season being so short this will be a great shelter for my tomatoes.

This is the highlight of the weekend.  The berry deck is now my new favorite focal point.  Its is made entirely from scrap wood I found in close by in Murray.   Saturday was a great day to have a truck. Friday after wook I shoveled some 3 cubic yards of compost into the truck, dropped it off at home then loaded some 600 pounds of 18″ wide river rocks and took the rest of the day off. Saturday morning I unloaded the rocks, picked up this wood for the deck and dropped it off, then grapped my husband and picked up a boat all by 2p.m.  Then I went on a little jaunt with a neighbor to look at dirt and came back just in time to unload the boat, build the deck, and snap this shot.  phew.

With all that lifting, bending, and digging it’s no wonder that I am feeling trim.  You can really work up a sweat doing this kind of thing.

If you want to see a rough idea of how I plan to use the boat  click the link.  Also, please  let me know if you think I should  seal the boat as is or paint it.  I would like to know what you think.

thanks again for visiting project pepper!

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, gardening, landscaping, second-hand success, Veggie Tales and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m all Jacked up on Junk

  1. Jen says:

    That wood looks so nice around your flower beds. AWESOME!

  2. Kelly Bryson says:

    I caught up on your last few blogs- it looks great! I can’t wait to see the finished results. Or should I bring some work clothes when I come visit? 😉 Good job!

Leave a Reply

