Growing Pains

It may not look like much but these tiny seedlings will grow to be 6-8′ tall and sport beautiful flowers that cascade down their long stalk.  They are called Hollyhock

 Cross your fingers they make it long enough to bloom into something like this.  In the last 3 months I have enjoyed more yard work than any other time in life combined.  I want to be modest about how far I have come but to be truthful I am generally impressed to have done so much.  Here are some progress shots of the last two weeks in the back yard.

 

These Holly bushes weren’t doing anyone any favors so I trimmed them down to the stump and ripped them out.

 

The roots were terrible to get out so I beat them with a maul until they broke up and I coud rip them out.  I officially hate holly bushes now.  Muy Maul!

After I got the roots out I added some compost to the soil .  I have found that reusing old bags makes it easier to transport and measure how much compost I am using.

Once all the soil is prepped I place all the bulbs and roots out on top and get an idea of the spacing.  This helps make the planting go faster when I am confident that I am digging the hole in the right place.

 

I also put in a modest vegetable garden.  I planted some cucumbers, zucchini, green squash, tomatoes, and carrots.  Half of the veggies are from seed and I am not sure if the seeds are still there, the birds have volunteered to help me thin the seeds.  Hopefully they saved some for harvest.

Kyle and I also picked cleared out the rest of this giant flower bed.  It took nearly 7 hours to remove the roots from the larger section (where the mulch looks darker).  I am so glad that he helped me get it done.  I felt like I was running a marathon and no longer cared if I crossed the finish line.  I’m sure that his back hurts after this, if not for carrying me at least for breaking up sod and moving those 90Lbs rocks.

 The cobblestone path was most fun I’ve had in a while.  I think that the education system should use challenges like this to test for the gifted program; doing this was way more fulfilling than copying a stack of colored blocks.  This path will help me navigate the flower bed when it comes time to prune and plant again for next season.

I also beefed up the bed to the left of the hill.  This section is entirely edible (and not just to the birds).  There is 3 different varieties of basil, chives, cilantro, and lots of beets. 

With one more week to go before I am on vacation there’s still a lot I want to accomplish.  I am starting to wonder if “home”deadlines are meant to be broken.  No doubt I’ll find myself really occupied once Rocket gets here and forget about the yard for a while.  It will be worth it for sure.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, gardening, landscaping, Uncategorized, Veggie Tales and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

