Reflecting on the Past and Plotting a Future

It has been my experience that people who view their work experiences as an investment in their education tend to be excited about their future and pleased with their past.  As for the present, what can you do but live in the moment and dream about where things can go.  That said, I am thinking about where I would like to be and happy about how far I have come.

This is an old picture of my loft space in Baltimore from 2005.   An artist that I worked with back there, Gary Eddington, told me that his work as a sign painter made him a better representational artist because the brain is actively learning how to control the brush even when the finished results are total opposites.  I would say the same is true with design, cooking, music, etc.  As long as it’s on your mind it’s growing.

Also a picture of my old studio.  I loved that place!  I remember the day I bought that rug, I had to carry it 6 blocks back to get it home.  I debated for weeks if it was worth it before I pulled the trigger. 

 This was my studio in Salt Lake before I met my husband and moved into a house.  I loved this place too, but not the 3 flights of stairs that I had to carry everything. I tell you if you want to de-clutter and thin down, move into a place that has no elevator, lots of stairs, and get rid of your car.  Then when  you are out shopping you have to ask yourself not just is it worth the money but the hassle of getting it home too.

When you have a car and an elevator you end up doing crazy stuff like making a chair that is so cute you can’t get rid of it even though it isn’t that comfortable.

And you learn how to continue your education by building things for work  like this inlay bench I build for Urban Outfitters.

Next thing you know you are interested in the War Effort in the 40s and get a little obsessed with amunition crates you saw so you build a bunch to hold more stuff and refine your craft that much more.

And all this because when you were young you wanted to wear stuff that no one was making so you made it yourself, like this tweed jacket.

And this army inspired Jacket and dress.

And this grey and pink applique dress.

And this eyelet dress that you tried to make at least 3 times before it came out right some 8 years later.

Or this Navy and Cream Dress that you worked on all day and couldn’t believe how good it felt to prance around in.

Or that sea-foam dress that you magically had lace yardage and a lace applique to match.

Anyway, the point is that I haven’t sewn as much as I would like but that is the trade-off for the education of a career.  I know that I will have a career in design and I hope that tides are not only changing in my personal thoughts but in the paths ahead of me.  Cross your fingers for me as I knock on doors that might lead to more great clothes and a life in a studio. 

 

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in fashion, who is this and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

