Western Romance

Being a rancher is something my husband idealizes not just because Red Dead Redemption but because folks like Robert Duval and Clint Eastwood brought it to life on the big screen.  Oh yeah, and both Kyle’s parents grew up  on a ranch and the evidence is deep in their veins;  no complaining and lots of milk in the fridge.  Me on the other hand… I grew up in a bathing suit and running wild on the Florida beaches so it’s no surprise that the there’s something mystical about the West.

Last July Kyle and I celebrated a Pioneer Day in a little town called Cokeville in Wyoming.  Half the town is in the parade while the other half lines the sidewalks of main street in hopes of collecting a year supply of salt water taffy.   The entire weekend is planned with nearly everybody in attendance.  Some of the weekends activities include a town wide football tournament and a rodeo.

Normally when I find myself attracted to something it has more to do with the brains however, my wild interest in the West is purely visual.  Here’s a look at some inspirational images I plan to draw from.

 

 

 

 

 

At first when I saw this photo I immediately thought awkward family photo but the truth is this is the gang of folks that made the quilt. 

After searching high and low for an authentic piece of western art I quickly discovered that it don’t come easy.  Wanting something within reach and feeling the pressure of immediacy that is so american in me I decided to solve all my problems by creating my own Sarape.  Above is a sample of textiles that I bought second-hand.  I have already started the quilt and will share it when I am done!  I am planning to make the quilt a large queen and hope to be done in a month.

Moral: some of life’s problems can be solved by quilting.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in second-hand success, sewing, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Western Romance

  1. Pingback: Navajo Quilt Progress and DIY Headboard Bedroom Ideas « Project Pepper

Leave a Reply

