library file end tables

If you ever come across a metal or wooden index file cabinet hold on to your hat because it could turn into something functional not just super cool.

This wooden one is pretty sweet and would look awesome with some metal pipe legs. 

I saw one like this for sale on ebay for less than $15.  The metal ones already have holes drilled in all four corners of the bottom so attaching wooden legs is easy if you have a short-handled screw driver and pre-drill the holes in the top of the legs.

 

Here is one of the tables I put together before I stained the wood.  I wanted the wood element to have an almost chunky feel to help balance the visual weight of the bulky cabinet.  The shelf on the bottom helps stabilize the legs and adds more space to shove stuff.  Yay!

I stained the wood with oil and left them to dry on my project table.  I prefer oil based stains because they have a longer work time although very messy to clean up.  I’ll be sure to post an image of these in the man cave as soon as I have completed the transformation!

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, second-hand success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

