Navajo Quilt Progress and DIY Headboard Bedroom Ideas


Here’s a look at the quilt I have been working on this month. So far it has over a thousand pieces and its considered the most amazing thing Kyle has ever seen me make.  90% of the quilt is made from recycled materials that I found at thrift stores and have collected over the years.  If you’ve been following this blog you might notice something is a little bigger.  If Beyoncé has taught me one thing it is that you should upgrade from time to time and  as chance would have it I was able to get a terrific deal on a king.  Our tiny room could hardly handle a queen so you can see why pictured above all you can see is the bed.  Any way… we got upgraded and now I need to figure out what we are going to do for a bed frame.  I did a little search and here is what I turned up:

I thought this would be great if I had more room, but it seems like the kind of thing that would be really effective in a bachelorette pad.

This one is perfect in a Bridge to Terabithia kind of way.  I would spring for the birds nests and tree branches if we lived in an old warehouse far from nature, but it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense in our tiny little room with a garden just outside the window. Other than that I am fine with a little fantasy en la cama.

This one is hitting a little closer to home, however our house is so new that I feel there would be too much of a disconnect between the old of all the frames and closet doors and the modernes of our fixtures and windows.  And while I love the look, I want something more substantial, something I haven’t seen.

Or you can always get some old fence boards (or new ones and paint them to look old like the ones pictured above) and screw them into the wall.  Not a bad idea, but it doesn’t exactly fit our space or the direction I am going. Looks great in their bungalow and is worth checking out.

I want something warm and rough like the wood above, something inviting like the trap, but also really want it to complement the Navajo quilt and all the industrial elements that i am weaving into the downstairs and then I came across this:

It’s great right? A bed for me, one for Kyle, and one for Rocket.  Only one problem, I don’t know that i would do this with a king but I love how warm and industrial it is and then it dawned on me…

I have all these beautiful wooden spool tops sitting around waiting to be used.  They would be perfect for a bed frame, they are heavy so I know as long as I connect them well they won’t shift around or break apart.  They are warm, industrial, and have a that round edge that would help sweeten up the reality of what it is.  I love the blue text with the room and it would be so simple to cut them down with a circular saw and a new blade. 

This would be the general shape I am going for.  I am not sure if I would want a foot board in this room, but I am tempted to make on just in case we wanted one later.  My goal is to get it done in November so check in and see how it is going.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY, second-hand success and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Navajo Quilt Progress and DIY Headboard Bedroom Ideas

  1. germanymarie says:

    a- I love the ‘bachelorette pad’ comment, it’s perfect and I wish I’d thought of it!!

    b- What about just hanging the spools in that general arrangement on the wall behind your bed, like a floating headboard/work of art? I once painted a Rothko homage as a ‘headboard’ above a queen bed, it was a dark grey floating rectangle on my dark red wall, and that was excellent. I love the old window shudders as well, but agree that they might be too ‘old’ for a new house!!

    c- the dog is HUGE!!!

    • Pepper says:

      ha ha, thanks! I knew someone would like that. It was my first thought when I saw the trap. Yes, Rocket is huge! and still growing. I also thought about not cutting the spool, but truth is, I have 7 of them and they are almost 5′ tall and I need to cut it down to fit under the window. If I lived in the H&H I would get crazy wild ideas. Lucky for me I have these energy efficient 7.5′ tall ceilings to keep me grounded.

  2. Leana says:

    Wow! That’s cool. I mean everything! Your quilt, the bed, the headboard ideas. We need one too, so I’m looking for something to DIY myself:) Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

