How to Give Your Space an Accent: Color

I know that there are lots of great things that can happen in home decor so I thought I would take the next couple of weeks to break down my ideas on color and texture just in time to make things nice and cozy this winter.

First: Color

Color can direct the mood set in a room.  Having a similar or complementary color scheme throughout your entire space can help tell a story.  Color can make a large space feel cozy and a small space seem large. 

This space appears much larger because the darker grays recede and in contrast the bright yellows, blues, and greens pop.  Another feature that elongates the space is the mirror on the back wall which reflects light back into the room and allows the eye to view both sides of the space at once.  And, of course, it doesn’t hurt to have a glass coffee table and a green translucent otter; both of which allow the eye to absorb even more space. 

When picking colors there are three things to consider: 1. If it’s a color you wear you will likely enjoy living with it. 2. Does this color work well with the amount of light in the room? & 3. Is this a color I want on my walls or it is a color I only need a little of.  I’m not about to tell anyone what to wear so I will jump into light:

Some cultures are defined by color.  In Greece the color blue is so prominent because it works so well with the light in that geographical region.  While I love the thought of having a Greek style villa I know that it won’t make sense in the Rocky Mountains; the long dull winters would flatten the vibrant blue and the mood would be lost.  Best place to look for color inspiration is to take cues from nature: look at native flowers, the sky, the sunset, etc.

Too much of a good thing might actually be too much.  Each of the elements in this room is individually awesome but all together turn out to be too much, unless you are color blind and think half of it is also red. 

Too little might leave you feeling nothing at all.  How great would this space be with a huge vibrant painting or photograph and a colorful rug? Maybe even some fresh flowers in a vase and a bowl of oranges? 

If you are weary of bright colors add visual interest with texture and pepper in color with natural elements like fresh flowers as the seasons change.  In this room a mustard blanket is laid across the foot of the bed accented by the yellow roses on the bed side table. And of course how lovely would this room be with another color accent from something that is transient like a beautiful dress, a tea set visiting from the kitchen, or a bright pair of shoes taken off at the foot of the bed.  Pops of color don’t always come from the things we buy to decorate but can be the things that we use around the house too.

Keep in mind no one is ever really done putting a room together, things change, get worn out, or something new shows up.  Change is what keeps us feeling refreshed.  Draw inspiration from what you love, where you live, and keep changing it up to create balance. This is where I am at with my room.  Trying out some curtains to see if I like them before I cut the fabric; after a week I feel indifferent.

When I am started I thought of the story I want to tell and add in one element at a time until I know that it is right.  I also look at pictures to see how others are using color.  Here are some images that I like:

I also started reading a book about Feng Shui and realized some things that I will want to change so the energy flows better, and I realized some things that I was doing that were good.  Here’s a map of the bedroom and the Feng Shui rules that apply:

My Bedroom is located in the southeast corner of my house which is the in the wealth and prosperity trigram of my house.  I’ll go into more detail about this later but the ideal pop colors for this room include white, green, and a fiery red. 

Until later, hope you have a Happy Halloween!

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Give Your Space an Accent: Color

  1. Pingback: Having Feng… and other ideas in Feng Shui « Project Pepper

Leave a Reply

