Bottled up for the Holidays

If you like to give small gifts here’s an idea on how to make it even more special.

No, It’s not a gift basket and I won’t say what I bought my friends and family this Christmas but I will say that it is small. This year I felt it was important to do something little and when it came time to decide on wrapping I felt stumped. 

I searched the internet for ideas on DIY wrapping ideas and came across some neat  things to try.

Wrap gift in a gift, like wrap a book in a T-shirt or fabric, etc… It doesn’t work with the gifts I bought/made but it is still a cute idea.

Or you can wrap a box in a box in a box in a…                                                                                                                       

Making something little bigger defeated my purpose since I am going small because I don’t want to bulk up my baggage when I fly home this season.  I’ll be the first to admit that opening a present is sometimes the best part so prolonging the anticipation is fun.

And if you can’t figure out what to wrap that special gift in you can always send your loved ones on a scavenger hunt to find their treasure.  Personally I like this one, but you have to give good clues and not exhaust the seeker. 

With all that in mind I still wasn’t sure how to wrap these precious mementos and then it dawned on me.  I should bottle them. 

Bottles come in all sizes and can be purchased cheap.  This 2 oz bottle cost less than $.80 and can hold a treat and a written message.

Bottles can be filled with colored sand, confetti, or lined with something to conceal its precious cargo.

You can even make the tiniest gesture more special by placing it a bottle.

Although a bad example, Angelina Jolie and ex-Billy Bob used to wear vials of each others blood to show the world that they were always with each other.  I didn’t take my concept to this level but there’s nothing crazy about keeping your child’s baby teeth or a lock of hair behind glass

And If you are shipping out your gift and you don’t want it to break you can use a tin instead.  This one holds 4 oz and would be perfect to conceal a necklace, bracelet, or earrings. 

 

And when it comes time to put all the gifts under the tree consider putting them in a basket that can be passed around for people to find their tokens of love. 

Each of the bottles shown on this post were purchased for less than a dollar and hopefully will be used after the holidays to house their trinkets.  I shopped around and found the best deal at an US based company called  Specialty Bottle .  If you like this idea I suggest you check them our and place your order within the month so you have time to play around with your ideas.  I will share my complete basket when I receive my order and hope you will share your ideas too.

About Pepper

Being someone who is actively searching for ways to make what I have better I thought it would be useful to share my talents and discoveries with anyone who is interested. So much of what I do is made from things that are easy to access and are perfect projects to spice up a weekend. In the words of Bernice Fitz-Gibbens "Creativity often consists of merely turning up what is already there." I hope that you will join me each weekend for a little inspiration and fun.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

